Cinnamon Protein Pancakes :: Low Carb Delight

I love most breakfast foods, but especially pancakes.  Regular pancakes are high in fat and carbohydrates so I created what I call the Cinnamon Protein Pancake.   This tasty delight is only 134 calories (3.6 carbs / 0.8 fat / 26.8 protein) for 4 silver dollar pancakes.  Have I gotten your attention now?

This meal is perfect for breakfast or  a quick snack after your weight toning workout.  It’s a quick snack you can prepare and cook within 5 minutes.

Cinnamon Protein Pancakes

Cinnamon Protein Pancakes

Cinnamon Protein Pancakes

Ingredients

3 :: Egg Whites

1 :: Scoop of Vanilla Protein Powder (I believe soy and protein based powders work much better then whey.)

1/2 tsp  :: Cinnamon

1 :: Stevia Packet

Directions

Blend all ingredients together in a small bowl.  I usually use a blender to make sure there are no lumps.

Lightly spray skillet and heat to med/high. I use the coconut oil spray from Whole Foods and love it.

Pour batter into four rounds in the pan.  Spread out batter if needed. Let cook about 10-20 seconds on each side.

Place on plate and top with greek yogurt, honey, dark chocolate, or fresh fruit.

Cinnamon Protein Pancakes

Sometimes I like to put some raspberries in the food processor to make healthy raspberry syrup.

I happened to like the taste of the cinnamon protein pancake the best, but you can always play around with the batter and mix in cocoa, dark chocolate chips, etc.

Cinnamon Protein Pancakes

Nutritional Information

Calories are calculated for the pancakes without toppings or syrup. Topping with greek yogurt only adds about 35 calories and a few more grams of protein!

Cinnamon Protein Pancakes

Cinnamon Protein Pancakes

Cinnamon Protein Pancakes

Enjoy!

 

Don’t want to miss a post? Look in the top right hand corner and  enter your email  in the box after “Follow Blog via email.”

10 thoughts on “Cinnamon Protein Pancakes :: Low Carb Delight

  1. I’m on a doctor ordered low carb diet but I LOVE pancakes!! This is the perfect solution!! Thanks!! I’m trying this tonight for supper with a side of turkey sausage links 😀

  2. I’ll give these a try! I am low-carbing, so let me mention one treat that I have been using:
    1 scoop Optimum Nutrition’s 100% Whey Protein powder Double Rich Chocolate flavor
    3 TBSP heavy whipping cream
    A dash of water to reach the consistency you like

    Mix them in a small dish, refrigerate for a little bit = protein chocolate pudding.
    (96 calories from protein, 12 calories from carb, 162 calories from fat = 270 calories)

    I’ve started using this for a low carb snack instead of protein bars, because it’s more satisfying, tastier, and much cheaper.

  3. I’m very curious how your batter looks so thick if its only egg whites and protein powder…I made these today and the batter is very runny and the pancakes turned out very thin and not at all thick and fluffy like you have them pictured…

  4. I use a protein vegan whey free powder and I too had a very watery batter. I had to add 2 more scoops of powder. Why would that happen? Otherwise they were very good.

    • I have only tried with soy and plant based protein powders, and they turn out great every time. Have you tried either of those? I feel like adding more whey protein would make the pancakes have a tough texture.

Leave a Reply

