DIY “CSL” Hair Mask :: It’s All About the Hair

This DIY hair mask is the perfect combination to moisturize, strengthen, repair, control frizz and grow your hair.

There are a lot of hair mask recipes out there but I like to combine all my favorite items into one.   I have been using this hair mask for the past 8 weeks and my hair has grown 2.5-3 inches!

I call it the “CSL” Hair Mask because it has coconut oil, sunflower oil and lavender….Just an easy to remember the recipe.

DIY "CSL" Hair Mask.  Grow hair 2-3 inches!

WHY THESE INGREDIENTS?  

Sunflower Oil

  • Natural moisturizer without chemicals hair
  • Transform hair to be silky, less frizzy and easy to work with
  • Sunflower oil contains gamma linolenic acid, which is an omega-6 fatty acid. Such fatty acids are essential to hair health, says Spencer David Kobren in his book, “The Truth About Women’s Hair Loss: What Really Works for Treating and Preventing Thinning Hair.”

Coconut Oil

  • Repair Damaged Hair
  • Strengthen and Promotes Hair Growth
  • Hydrates scalp which is good for those that have dandruff
  • Controls Frizz (moisturizing hair naturally makes it less frizzy)

Lavender

  • Stops Hair Loss (have even been proven through scientific studies)
  • Balances Scalp
  • Lavender has the Latin name Lavare, which means “to wash”.  This is why lavender literally “de-bugs” hair and kills lice and any other bacteria.

DIY Coconut Oil, Sunflower Oil, Lavender Hair Mask

 

 

______________________________________________________

HAIR MASK RECIPE:

1 tbsp. Sunflower Oil (or could use extra virgin olive oil)

1 tbsp. Coconut Oil

3-4 drops Essential Lavender Oil

(1 egg yolk – I add this into my “CSL” hair mask every 2-3 weeks.  This adds protein and locks in additional moisture.  I recommend using the egg yolk for those that have dry hair. Ignore and don’t use egg yolk if you have oily hair.)

______________________________________________________

 

DIY Coconut Oil, Sunflower Oil, Lavender Hair Mask

DIRECTIONS:

1. Gently warm the coconut oil and sunflower oil until melted.

Make sure to do this on low.  I usually just stick my bowl on the stove or in a sink of hot water (not letting water in). You can also use the microwave, but I don’t like it because I think microwaves kill nutrients.

2. Add in lavender or essential oil of choice.

3. Poor mixture slowly on the roots of your hair over a sink to cut down on the mess.  I pour this on my hair when it is dry, but if you prefer to dampen it first you can.  After making sure the roots get covered, comb through your hair so all my hair gets coated in the mask.

4. Pin your hair up with a few clips.  Let Sit for 2 hours and then rinse out.   For days or weeks that you really want to deep condition, you can sleep overnight with a shower cap on.

5. Wash your hair with SLS Free shampoo & conditioner.  Then style as usual.

(To transform your hair, use this treatment 2-3 times/week for 4-8 weeks.  To maintain, just use once every 1-2 weeks.  I also like to follow this hair treatment the next day or 2 with my DIY dry shampoo recipe.    )

Have you made your own hair mask before?  If so, let me know which kitchen ingredients are your favorite to use.

28 thoughts on “DIY “CSL” Hair Mask :: It’s All About the Hair

  1. Okay, I think its time to comment since I’ve pinned a bunch of your popular posts! Thank you! I am so excited to try all of these!

    • Hi Mackenzie,
      Yes, peppermint oil is wonderful for your hair. It assists in balancing your pH levels and also stimulating hair growth. I would use no more than 2-4 drops in your hair mask though.
      You can also add Jojoba oil, Tea Tree oil, Vitamin E, or Glycerin with your Peppermint oil in the hair mask which all promotes hair growth as well. Thanks for stopping by! – Brittany

  2. Pingback: Coconut Oil :: My Windex – 40 Uses | Brittany Blum

  3. My hair felt very tanglely right when I put it on. And the amounts didn’t cover my whole head of hair…. Does that matter?

    • Hi Danielle,
      It is completely normal for your hair to feel tangly. If you have really long hair and this mask doesn’t lightly coat your hair, I would add more coconut and sunflower oil.

  4. Do u need to put in a essential oil. And where can I get the lavender one. Is it in a cooking good area in a store or where.?

    • Hi Nicky,
      You do not have to put the essential oil in for the hair mask to work. This is just the combination that I have found works best for me. The lavender is known to clean the scalp as well as promote hair growth so that is why I like to always include it in my mask.

  5. What about olive oil instead of lavender? Because I don’t really have access to any lavender or any of the oils you listed in your comment. 😦

    • If you don’t have lavender essential, I would just leave it out. The lavender oil just helps clean the scalp and promote hair growth. You can leave it out and it will not affect the mask at all. If you want to sub olive oil, you can use that in place of the sunflower oil!

  6. I am trying this for the first time tonight and I feel like the oil is dripping all over my face and neck–which is not good for my skin. Any tips?

  7. I can’t wait to try this but do u have any ideas on what can help with shedding….. my hair sheds really bad and I need HELP!!!!

  8. Pingback: 18 Mother's Day Crafts for Grown Ups - The Super Mommy Club

  9. Pingback: DIY “CSL” Hair Mask | Inspire Beauty Tips

  10. Pingback: 18 Mother's Day Crafts for Grown Ups

Leave a Reply

