Guiltless Baked Mozzarella Sticks :: Indulge

 

Guiltlessly Indulge for only 40 calories. This is an extremely easy and quick recipe to make.  I like to double/triple recipe and store in the freezer for when we have guests over for an easy appetizer.

 

Prep Time: 8 minutes / Cook Time: 8 minutes / Total Time: 16-20 minutes

Serving Size 12, 1/2 mozzarella sticks

Guiltless Baked Mozzarella Sticks :: Indulge - www.brittanyblum.com

Need I say more.

Guiltless Baked Mozzarella Sticks :: Indulge - www.brittanyblum.com

 

Ingredients

1 Tbsp. Quinoa Flour (or flour of choice) (I buy Organic Quinoa Flour by Ancient Harvest at Kroger, Central Market or Whole Foods).

1 Egg

2 Tbsp. Brown Rice Breadcrumbs (or Panko bread crumbs)  (I find my Brown Rice Breadcrumbs at Whole Foods)

1 Tbsp. dried parsley

1 Tsp. garlic powder

1 Tbsp. black pepper

1 tsp. dried oregano

2 tbsp. Parmesan cheese

Cooking Spray of Choice (I use coconut oil spray)

Salt & pepper to taste

Guiltless Baked Mozzarella Sticks :: Indulge  www.brittanyblum.com

Directions

Step 1: Place flour on plate

Step 2: Put Egg in a Bowl

Step 3: In another bowl mix the remaining ingredients: breadcrumbs, parsley, garlic powder, oregano, parmesan cheese and salt/black pepper to taste.

Take 6 sticks and cut mozzarella sticks in half.   Slightly coat each stick by rolling in the flour mixture.  Next, dip stick in egg and then coat thoroughly in the bowl with the seasoning mixture.

Place on coated pan (I use my silpat).  Spray a little coconut oil (or cooking spray) on the mozzarella sticks and bake at 400˚ F for 3 minutes.  Turn sticks over and cook another 3 minutes or until golden brown and cheese is soft.

(*See Below for nutrition facts)

 

Guiltless Baked Mozzarella Sticks :: Indulge - www.brittanyblum.com

Hot out of the oven

 

Prepare for Later: You can freeze sticks in wax paper if you want to save for future use. I usually cook those 2-3 minutes longer since they are frozen.

Guiltless Baked Mozzarella Sticks :: Indulge - www.brittanyblum.com

Preparing extra’s to freeze. I place on wax paper and freeze until I am ready to cook.

 

*Nutrition Facts

Guiltless Mozzarella Sticks :: Indulge :: www.brittanyblum.com

Serving Size 1/2 Mozzarella stick (6 sticks = 12 baked cheese sticks)

http://recipes.sparkpeople.com/recipe-detail.asp?recipe=2372223 from SparkPeople.com.

3 thoughts on “Guiltless Baked Mozzarella Sticks :: Indulge

  1. Pingback: Game Time Grub :: Win in the Kitchen « Brittany Blum

  2. Thanks for reading my post and checking out my blog! I can’t wait to try these… mozzarella sticks are my one of my favs! 🙂

Leave a Reply

