DIY Dry Shampoo :: Have a happy HAIR day

What is Dry Shampoo:

Dry shampoo has been around for years.  I think of it as a must have miracle product.  It is a powder base, usually made some a type of cornstarch, that absorbs the excess oils and cleans your hair without water. Yes, stars use it too.

Stars use dry shampoo. Picture from Posh24. See below for a link to Posh24 and more stars that use dry shampoo.

Ingredients:

2 tbsp. Corn Starch

2 tbsp. Baking Soda

2 tbsp. Arrowroot Powder

10 drops of Lavender Essential Oil

(Those that have dark hair should add 2 tablespoons of coco powder to the mixture above.)

DIY Dry Shampo :: www.brittanyblum.com

Directions:

Mix all ingredients in a bowl with a spoon/whisk until well blended.

Keep a small about on hand in a small container (similar to a salt shaker) and store the rest in an airtight container

Place a very generous amount throughout your hair

Wait two minutes and comb through hair.  Combing will pull the dirt and oil.

DIY Dry Shampoo & Benfits :: Must Have!   www.BrittanyBlum.com

Just made another batch and tested it out on my hair…amazing as always.

____________________________________________________________________________________________

My Experience with Dry Shampoo:

The cheap brands usually leave my hair feeling distrusting and like I have something caked it in.  You can buy some good salon brands, but will be spending upwards to $30+…and I only get about 6 uses out of a can.  Others I have heard choose to use baby powder, but the scent of a fresh baby powder is then hovering over their shoulders all day.

I like this recipe because it is easy to make and it actually works.  My hair does not feel caked and I will continue to use this when I need to freshen up quickly.

** For best results, switch off days between dry shampoo and SLS Free Shampoo. **

_________________________________________________________________________________________

Additional Before & After Photo’s From Others

Dry Shampoo Picture from  Style Me Thrifty

Dry Shampoo Picture from http://www.StyleMeThrifty.com

Dry Shampoo Picture from www.CurlsnPearls.com

Dry Shampoo Picture from http://www.CurlsnPearls.com

Click below to see stars who use dry shampoo.

DIY Dry Shampoo :: www.brittanyblum.com

Anyone rocking great bangs knows that they need to stay fresh all day long. Do like Taylor Swift and apply some dry shampoo to keep that cute hair down. http://www.posh24.com/beauty_trends/top_10_hair_tips_dry_shampoo

This recipe has been adapted from Fox and Doll.  If you don’t have time to make it you can buy a similar product here.

http://www.etsy.com/shop/FoxandDoll

8 thoughts on “DIY Dry Shampoo :: Have a happy HAIR day

  1. Pingback: DIY “CSL” Hair Mask :: It’s All About the Hair « Brittany Blum

  2. I like this! Cheaper brands are really bad, but as a fellow blonde I know the value of a good dry shampoo. Does the lavender oil not clump in the mix a bit? PS I have a homemade deodorant on my site.Thanks for subscribing to food to glow

    • Hi Erin – Arrowroot power is used as a thickening agent. It is similar to cornstarch, but more neutral in flavor. I bought the Bob’s Red Mill all natural arrowroot powder from Whole Foods. I believe most grocery stores have it including HEB and Kroger. If you make it, let me know how you like it!

  3. Tresemme has a great dry shampoo, and a no rinse variety. No rinse shampoo I had used as a Nurse for years, with great results. The hospital brand was called “No Rinse Shampoo”, to my surprise there are many varieties out there now. If your hair is thin or fine, no rinse is great, but if your hair is thick it might take as long as washing it. I will try the homemade one, thanks for sharing this, I know I am not the only one who to keep my hair looking good, I’d need to wash it daily.

  4. Glad I randomly came across this. Will have to make some up for my younger sister who swears by dry shampoo.. until I told her about parabens, etc. I’ve just started getting the family to rid the chemicals, it’s kind of overwhelming because I am quickly figuring out that pretty much everything contains bad chemicals! :/
    http://www.larlarcharms.co.uk/blog

Leave a Reply

